AMRUT Mission (Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation)

About the Mission:

The main aim of the AMRUT Mission is to provide basic amenities like water supply, sewerage, urban transport etc to households and build amenities in cities that can enhance the quality of life for all especially poor and disadvantaged people as national priority.

Core Elements of the AMRUT Mission:

The core elements of the AMRUT mission lies in providing the basic amenities to the citizens which include:

Proper Supply of Water

  • Creation and maintenance of water supply systems
  • Rehabilitation of old water supply
  • Rejuvenation of old Water bodies
  • Special water arrangement for difficult areas

Sewerage Facility

  • Creation and maintenance of Decentralised, networked underground sewerage systems
  • Rehabilitation of old Sewage system and treatment plants
  • Recycling of water and reuse of wastewater


  • Faecal Sludge Management
  • Biological and Mechanical cleaning of sewers and septic tanks

Storm Water Drainage

  • To Construct and maintained effective storm drainage for prevent flooding

Urban Transport

  • Construction of proper Footpaths/ walkways, sidewalks, foot over bridges and facilities for non-motorised transport
  • Construction and maintenance of multilevel parking
  • Bus Rapid Transport System
  • Ferry vessels for inland waterways

Green Spaces

  • Enhancing amenity value of cities by creating and upgrading green spaces, parks and recreation centres, especially for children
  • Purchase of land for projects or project related works
  • Staff salaries of both the States/ULBs,
  • Power
  • Telecom
  • Health
  • Education
  • Wage employment programme and staff component

Cities/ Towns in Uttar Pradesh that are Planned to be covered in AMRUT Mission are:

    • Lucknow (M Corp.)
    • Budaun (NPP)
    • Kanpur (M Corp.)
    • Banda (NPP)
    • Ghaziabad (M Corp.)
    • Lakhimpur (NPP)
    • Agra (M Corp.)
    • Hathras (NPP)
    • Meerut (M Corp.)
    • Lalitpur (NPP)
    • Varanasi (M Corp.)
    • Modinagar (NPP)
    • Allahabad (M Corp.)
    • Deoria (NPP)
    • Bareilly (M Corp.)
    • Pilibhit (NPP)
    • Moradabad (M Corp.)
    • Hardoi (NPP)
    • Aligarh (M Corp.)
    • Mainpuri (NPP)
    • Saharanpur (M Corp.)
    • Etah (NPP)
    • Gorakhpur (M Corp.)
    • Basti (NPP)
    • Firozabad (NPP)
    • Chandausi (NPP)
    • Loni (NPP)
    • Gonda (NPP)
    • Jhansi (M.Corp.)
    • Akbarpur (NPP)
    • Muzaffarnagar (NPP)
    • Khurja (NPP)
    • Mathura (NPP)
    • Azamgarh (NPP)
    • Shahjahanpur (NPP)
    • Ghazipur (NPP)
    • Rampur (NPP)
    • Mughalsarai (NPP)
    • Maunath Bhanjan (NPP)
    • Sultanpur (NPP)
    • Farrukhabad-cum-Fatehgarh (NPP)
    • Shikohabad (NPP)
    • Hapur (NPP)
    • Shamli (NPP)
    • Etawah (NPP)
    • Ballia (NPP)
    • Mirzapur-cum-Vindhyachal (NPP)
    • Baraut (NPP)
    • Bulandshahar (NPP)
    • Sambhal (NPP)
    • Amroha (NPP)
    • Fatehpur (NPP)
    • Rae Bareli (NPP)
    • Orai (NPP)
    • Bahraich (NPP)
    • Jaunpur (NPP)
    • Unnao (NPP)
    • Sitapur (NPP)
    • Faizabad (NPP
    • Kasganj (NPP)